Broad Street Ward

Broad Street is one of 25 wards in the City of London, each electing an alderman to the Court of Aldermen and commoners (the City equivalent of a councillor) to the Court of Common Council of the City of London Corporation. Only electors who are Freemen of the City of London are eligible to stand.

Who We Are

Wards which make up the City of London, otherwise known as the ‘Square Mile’. Each Ward is represented on the Court of Common Council, the decision making body for the City of London Corporation, by an Alderman and Common Councilmen, in Broad Street’s case, three Common Councilmen. Find more information about the Ward here

The ward's northern boundary along London Wall and Blomfield Street borders Coleman Street ward, before curving to the north-east along Liverpool Street, the division with Bishopsgate. From here, Old Broad Street runs south-west along the border with Cornhill where it joins Throgmorton Street, its southern boundary—to the south of which is the Bank of England in Walbrook ward. The western boundary follows a series of small courts and alleys adjacent to Moorgate and then runs up Copthall Avenue. A busy commercial area it also contains three livery halls of the Worshipful Company of Carpenters, Worshipful Company of Drapers and Worshipful Company of Furniture Makers. Like many of the City wards it has a social club for people who work in the area, which celebrated its 40th anniversary in March 2016. Visit the Club website

All rights reserved. Chris Hayward CC

© 2021